E-Net News

Elon Local News honored by state organization

Students and the show itself placed well in RTDNAC competition.

Six students from Elon Local News and the broadcast itself placed well in several categories of the Radio Television Digital News Association of the Carolinas awards competition Nov. 2.

The winners and categories are:

Best Feature Reporting
First place to seniors Joe Bruno and Elizabeth Kantlehner for "Going Bald for a Cause"
Second place to junior Brian Mezerski for "Special Fridays"

Best Student News Producing
First place to alumna Julie Morse '13 for the Oct. 22, 2012 show

Best Student Newscast
Second place for the April 29, 2013 show produced by junior Ryan Greene

Best Student News Reporting
Second place to sophomore Gary Grumbach for "Students Protest Intolerance at College Coffee"

Best Student Sports Story
Second place to sophomore Justin Biegel for "First a Phoenix, Now a Raven"

The awards were presented at the RTDNAC luncheon. This is the seventh straight year Elon Local News has placed in the top two for best student newscast.

The luncheon was attended by ELN students Bruno, Kantlehner, Biegel, Mezerski, Greene, Alex Rose, Lauren Cook, Courtney Davis, Jeff Ackermann, Carly Hildyard, Sky Cowans, Brennan McDavid, Eric Halperin, Katie Maraghy, Jasmine Turner, Allison D'Amora, Ashley Bohle, Gary Grumbach, John Bowden, Michelle Afini, Nicole Chadwick, Jason Puckett, David Perell, Megan Foard, Kailey Tracy and Meredith Stutz. Elon adviser and Communications associate professor Richard Landesberg was also in attendance.

Colin Donohue,
10/25/2013 3:30 PM